WhatsApp finally confirms message recall feature
Users now have up to seven minutes to delete a message
WhatsApp is finally allowing you to recall that embarrassing message you sent by mistake or to the wrong person.
The Facebook-owned messaging app has finished testing the recall feature, dubbed ‘Delete for everyone', and it is now available to its one billion user base.
To delete a message, users on iOS, Android and Windows Phone will have to go to the chat thread, tap and hold the messages that need to be deleted and then select the ‘Delete for everyone' option.
However messages can only be deleted within a seven minute timeframe of sending them, therefore users have to quick. Once the message has been deleted it will be replaced with ‘This message was deleted'.
The feature has not be publically announced by WhatsApp, however the company's FAQ page has been updated:
"To delete messages for everyone
Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.
Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with "This message was deleted" in your recipients' chats (*). Similarly, if you see "This message was deleted" in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.
You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone."
The update is expected to roll-out in phases.