Facebook Timeline becomes compulsory
New feature shows users’ life events as far back as 2004
Facebook will be rolling out its new Timeline feature to all 800 million Facebook users as a compulsory update over the next few weeks, according to the Press Association.
Social networking site users will have seven days to add or remove things from their Facebook Timeline before it goes live.
The seven-day period before the new timeline goes live will allow users to remove any aspects of their profile from a few years ago that they may regret posting on their page.
Facebook says the new feature is designed to give users a better idea of who they are.
Users were able to opt into the Timeline from 15th December, but now the feature is to become a staple part of the site.
Facebook has said that the Timeline will allow users' friends to access details on their life from as far back as 2004, when Facebook started, but will not affect their privacy settings.
There will be what Facebook calls an activity log, which allows users to set a specific privacy setting for each post published on their page, meaning that they can decide to only allow close friends to see a picture or post.
"It will show you all of your posts and activity - from today back to when you first started using Facebook. Only you can see your activity log. You can use it to easily review and choose who sees what you've shared on your Timeline," a Facebook spokeswoman told the Press Association.