Home / TQM contributions rewarded

TQM contributions rewarded

Three top e-TQM College academics win global honours for their distinguished contribution to TQM development.

Three leading academics associated with e-TQM College, the Dubai-based electronic educational institution that has pioneered e-learning in the Middle East region, have been recently honoured by global TQM organisations for their distinguished service to the cause of spreading awareness of the quality movement.

Professor Mohamed Zairi, assistant vice president of academic affairs at e-TQM College and head of the European Centre for Total Quality Management at the University of Bradford’s School of Management, has been awarded the 2005 Harrington/Ishikawa Medal for “exceptional adherence to quality principles and leadership in the quality movement throughout the Asia-Pacific region.”

Due to his strongly association with e-TQM College, Professor Zairi hopes this honour will help raise the profile of the college at the regional and international levels and inspire more professionals and corporates to take advantage of its online courses. “I am delighted to receive this prestigious medal. It will inspire me to continue my work in integrating the values of TQM in everyday business, especially in the Arab world where much work remains to be done,” says Zairi, who will receive the medal at the Asia Pacific Quality Organisations annual conference at Hanoi, Vietnam, in October.

Earlier winners of the medal include Armand V Fiegenbaum from the USA, Yuanzhang Liu from China and Yoshio Kondo from Japan.

Professor Yoshio Kondo, a member of e-TQM College’s advisory board, has been named the 23rd honorary member of the prestigious American Society for Quality (ASQ), in recognition of “his exceptional contribution to the global quality community as a thought-leader in the fields of human motivation and total quality management and his exemplary personal dedication to the promotion of quality throughout the world.”

Kondo is the global quality emissary for the Union of Japanese Scientists and Engineers (JUSE), the position formerly held by quality guru Karou Ishikawa. Kondo is Professor Emeritus of Kyoto University, in Japan. Prior to his retirement in 1987, he was professor and dean of the faculty of engineering at Kyoto University. He also taught at Massachusetts Institute of Technology during a two-year sabbatical.

Finally, Professor Jens J Dahlgaard, a member of e-TQM College’s advisory board, has been awarded the Lancaster Medal in recognition of his "dedication and outstanding contribution to the international fraternity of quality professionals." A former professor in Quality Technology and Management at the Linkoping University, Dahlgaard has also imparted lessons in quality management to students of the Aarhus School of Business.

According to Zairi, “The three international recognitions are a testimony to the high standards that e-TQM College follows in providing world-class TQM education to candidates in the region. In the eyes of the international TQM community, e-TQM College has gained greater prestige as a result of these honours.”

Follow us to get the most comprehensive technology news in UAE delivered fresh from our social media accounts on Facebook, Twitter, Youtube, and listen to our Weekly Podcast. Click here to sign up for our weekly newsletter on curated technology news in the Middle East and Worldwide.