Facebook revamps security settings

Users can now pre-approve tagging, have more control over who sees content

Tags: Facebook IncorporationSocial MediaSocial networking
  • E-Mail
Facebook revamps security settings Facebook is revamping its much-criticised privacy settings to allow users more control over what they share with who.
By  Georgina Enzer Published  August 24, 2011

Facebook is revamping the way users can control their privacy on the social networking site. The changes include new sharing settings for each item posted on the site, allowing users to control who sees what, according to the BBC.

This is the latest in a long line off attempts by Facebook to improve their much criticised privacy controls. Previously the company has been taken to task for burying privacy settings in menus that are not immediately obvious.

Posts by users will also have their own privacy settings and, when a user is tagged in an item such as a photo or video, they will have the option to confirm or remove themselves from the item before it goes public and appears on their profile.

Facebook hopes this will stop the practice of malicious tagging, where individuals add people’s names to unpleasant images.

The new security settings also include in line controls, with each item on a user’s wall featuring its own privacy options, such as public, friends and custom.

Users will also now have to option to remove tags themselves, ask the person who tagged you to remove it, or block the tagger.

Facebook has also introduced universal tagging, which means that Facebook users can tag people who are not on Facebook in a post, the tagged person can then choose whether or not to accept the tag.

Users can also ask for tags of them to be removed or have the content deleted completely.

Existing users will retain their current default sharing settings and the first time new Facebook members’ share a piece of content, their default suggestion will be public - which replaces the ‘everyone’ setting. If users select another option, that will become their default.

The new privacy options will begin to be rolled out across the site from Thursday 25 August.

2524 days ago
Maya

you still need to add the blackout option on tagged pictures!

Add a Comment

Your display name This field is mandatory

Your e-mail address This field is mandatory (Your e-mail address won't be published)

Security code