Scammers use Google+ hype to trap Facebook users

Fake application lures Facebook users into sharing personal data, inviting 50 friends to scam page

Tags: EntertainmentFacebook IncorporationGoogle IncorporatedSocial networking
  • E-Mail
Scammers use Google+ hype to trap Facebook users Scammers are taking advantage of the hype surrounding Google+ by putting up an application which says it will get you a Google+ invite if you add 50 friends. The app asks for access to user's profiles and personal data and victims do not get access to Google+.
By  Georgina Enzer Published  July 14, 2011

Scammers of Facebook are exploiting the hype around the new Google+ social networking website by promising to offer users the possibility of sending their friends the rare and much coveted invite to join the new social networking site, according to BitDefender.

Scammers send an invitation to Facebook users saying that the user must invite 50 friends and they and their friends will be able to use Google+.

Once a victim has clicked on the link, the fake app asks for access to their profile information and data. The victim is then asked to ‘Like' the Facebook page belonging to Google+, which already has almost 15,000 users. Once that is done the victim then has to invite 50 of their friends to join Google+ on the Facebook page.

Once the victim clicks send requests, they are directed to the Google+ project page, where the victim cannot sign in or access Google+.

Meanwhile the victim's Facebook page has been populated entirely by the fake Google+ page posts and the scammers have access to user's data and profiles,

According to BitDefender, once the page has got enough users, the scammers may plan to redirect these users to a fake external page set up to do more harm.

Add a Comment

Your display name This field is mandatory

Your e-mail address This field is mandatory (Your e-mail address won't be published)

Security code