e-University announces Chancellor's Award winners

Recipients recognised for their contributions to online teaching

Tags: AwardsE-learningEducationUnited Arab Emirates
  • E-Mail
e-University  announces Chancellor's Award winners Hamdan bin Mohammed e-University (HBMeU) announced the three Chancellor Award winners during the recent Chancellor Reception 2010 at the Atlantis Hotel in Dubai.
By  Georgina Enzer Published  November 11, 2010

The winners of the Chancellor's Award for Innovation in Online Teaching and Learning were announced by Hamdan bin Mohammed e-University (HBMeU) during the recent Chancellor Reception 2010 at the Atlantis Hotel in Dubai.

The winners of the Chancellor's 2009-2010 were Dr Kanishka Bedi of e-School of Business and Quality Management, Dr Rana Tamim of the School of e-Education, and Dr Samer Hamidi of e-School of Health Environmental and Environmental Studies.

The winners were selected for their significant contributions in improving the quality of online teaching and learning by a panel of international judges and the awards were presented by Dr Mansoor Al Awar, Chancellor of HBMeU.

"The primary aim of the Chancellor's Award is to recognise individuals who have made significant contributions towards enhancing the quality of learning and teaching at Hamdan Bin Mohammed e-University. We believe that this is an excellent way to constantly raise the bar of excellence and to inspire faculty members to showcase their expertise in developing creative and innovative ways of teaching at the university. I would like to extend my congratulations to the winners as I look forward to seeing more brilliant ideas and concepts in the future cycles of the Chancellor's Award," said Dr Al Awar.

The annual Chancellor Reception is organised every year to provide an opportunity for the staff to network with their colleagues and meet with the Chancellor. 

The HBMeU also announced, during the ceremony, the creation of two new categories that will be included in next year's Chancellor's Award: Excellence in Research and Community Services.

The Excellence in Research award is designed to recognise and encourage outstanding research contribution. This research can be both generic individual research, as well as collaborative research.

The new Community Services award recognises an individual's contribution in the area of community and university services. The selection criteria for this award have been written in accordance with the definition of community and university services described in the faculty handbook.

Each of the awards are open to all academic and faculty members at HBMeU, including Graduate and Undergraduate Program Directors, full-time faculty who have completed at least two regular semesters, and adjunct faculty members who have taught at least 15 credit hours at either graduate or undergraduate level during the past two academic years.

Add a Comment

Your display name This field is mandatory

Your e-mail address This field is mandatory (Your e-mail address won't be published)

Security code