Nominations roll in for CommsMEA Awards

Companies from across the telecom sector invited to enter CommsMEA awards as deadline for nominations is extended to November 19th

Tags: Comms MEA Awards 2009United Arab Emirates
  • E-Mail
By  Roger Field Published  November 3, 2009

With just over a month to go until this year's CommsMEA Awards, companies from all parts of the region's telecoms ecosystem have been busy submitting nominations in the hope of impressing the judges.

Given the popularity of this year's event - and in recognition of the fact that there are still a few key players yet to submit a nomination following the busy Gitex period - we have decided to extend the deadline for submissions until November19th, giving any companies that have not yet entered another two weeks to participate.

This year there are 16 categories of award, giving all types of organisation, from operators, vendors and regulators to content and application providers, a chance to impress the judges and gain recognition for excellence in front of a 300-strong gathering at the Awards gala dinner in Dubai in December.

This year, we have added two categories to recognise the contribution made by vendors, and also an award for regulators. There are also plenty of opportunities for content and application providers to enter the awards.

The categories are as follows:

  • Customer Service Provider of the Year
  • Telecoms Deal of the Year
  • Fixed Line Operator of the Year
  • ISP of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • New Entrant of the Year
  • New Telecoms Service of the Year
  • Overall Operator of the Year
  • Middle East Mobile Operator of the Year
  • African Mobile Operator of the Year
  • Most Innovative Non-Voice Service
  • Telecoms Technology Investment of the Year
  • Middle East vendor of the year
  • African vendor of the year
  • Regulator initiative of the year

To submit a nomination for the awards, simply visit our dedicated website and download the nomination form. All instructions and criteria are listed on the website, and nominations can be submitted by email.

Also remember that smaller operators and solutions providers have as much chance of winning an award as the region's leading operators. The reason is simple: Each nomination is judged on merit, and smaller operators and start-ups are just as likely to have demonstrated excellence in their field as the region's heavyweights.

Once we have collated all of the entries, each application will be assessed and judged by a panel of international industry experts and consultants. A shortlist of nominations will be selected and award winners will be announced and presented at the ceremony in December, among 350 plus people representing the cream of the region's telecoms sector.

If you have any queries about how to enter a nomination, please don't hesitate to send me an email me at, or give me a call on 00971 4 210 8419.

Add a Comment

Your display name This field is mandatory

Your e-mail address This field is mandatory (Your e-mail address won't be published)

Security code