Earning recognition

Few sectors are as fast paced as the MENA region’s telecoms market, which continues to surprise industry insiders and analysts with the speed and scale of development

  • E-Mail
By  Roger Field Published  September 4, 2008

While telecom players in the region are all competing for additional revenue, it is clear that the telecom industry also has a powerful impact in terms of improving people’s lives, particularly in developing countries. Indeed, according to a report from the GSM Association, a 10% increase in mobile penetration leads to a 1.2% increase in the annual growth rate in GDP.

But despite the numerous benefits wrought by the telecommunications sector in the region, the telecom professionals who make it happen are often left out of the limelight amid the speed of progress. This is just one reason why CommsMEA is proud to open nominations for the third annual CommsMEA Awards, an event which aims to recognise and reward excellence in the sector.

The awards ceremony itself, which will take place during a gala dinner on 15th December at Dubai’s Grand Hyatt hotel, will award companies and telecom professionals for outstanding achievement across the following twelve categories:

• Customer Service Provider of the Year
• Telecoms Deal of the Year
• Fixed Line Operator of the Year
• ISP of the Year
• Lifetime Achievement Award
• New Entrant of the Year
• New Telecoms Service of the Year
• Overall Operator of the Year
• Middle East Mobile Operator of the Year
• African Mobile Operator of the Year
• Most Innovative Non-Voice Service
• Telecoms Technology Investment of the Year

While 15th December may seem a long way off, the closing date for nominations is November 7 – so to ensure your company has a chance of winning, we recommend that you visit our dedicated awards website www.itp.net/events/commsmeaawards and start the nomination process without delay.

Making a nomination is simple. Just download the official form in the “nomination process” section of the website and follow the instructions. Information about why your company is a worthy winner of your selected category should run to no more than 1000 words, and must be submitted by no later than 6pm, 7th November.

Each application will then be assessed and judged by a panel of international industry experts and consultants. A shortlist of nominations will be selected and award winners will be announced and presented at the ceremony.

Don’t delay – we look forward to receiving your nominations.

Add a Comment

Your display name This field is mandatory

Your e-mail address This field is mandatory (Your e-mail address won't be published)

Security code